Oct 302011

Like Wow!

The Age EG is thrilled to announce legendary Australian band the Hoodoo Gurus as this year’s inductees into The Age EG Hall of Fame and the headline act for the 2011 Age EG Awards at the Prince Bandroom in St Kilda on Wednesday, November 23.

The Hoodoo Gurus were formed in Sydney in 1981 by Dave Faulkner, Brad Shepherd , James Baker and Clyde Bramley. The Gurus gave Australia such anthemic pop-rock gems as Leilani, Tojo, My Girl, I Want You Back, Bittersweet, Like Wow-Wipeout!, Miss Free Love ‘69 and What’s My Scene?. They will join their rock n’ roll colleagues Paul Kelly, Painters and Dockers, Died Pretty, Kim Salmon and TISM as the sixth act chosen by EG staff for the EG Hall of Fame in loving memory of former Age journalist and one-time EG editor Steve Waldon.

“We are very proud to include the Gurus, who gave us such brilliant albums as Mars Needs Guitars!, Blow your Cool! and Magnum Cum Louder, to our very exclusive Hall of Fame” says EG editor Jo Roberts. “Each year this night gets better and better and the Awards night gig has earned legendary status among discerning Melbourne music fans. After last year’s awards, Beat magazine said ‘you’d be hard-pressed to find anything else with this much spontaneity, or heart, in the musical calendar and that really sums it up. The EG Awards are a labour of love.”

Dave Faulkner was on hand at the 2008 EG Awards to induct friends and peers Died Pretty into the EG Hall of Fame. “It was like one big party, he said, “It’s a good one. It has the thing of not being industry- like, even though it is part of the industry…the EG Awards are different.”

Triple R’s own Jon Von Goes will host the awards this year, which will be opened by the four-sister phenomenon that is Victoria’s own Stonefield who this year have already wowed audiences from Glastonbury to LA’s Roxy. The sizzling house band the EG All-Stars (including Pete Luscombe, Dan Luscombe, Ash Naylor and Bill McDonald) will be performing along with other guest stars on the night, TBA.

Eight of the 10 EG Awards are chosen by EG readers, making it the largest reader-voted music awards in Australia, with last year’s online voting drawing a record 45,000 votes.

This year Patrick Donovan, Music Victoria CEO and Founder of the Age EG Awards will present two awards on the night – details TBA.

Online voting for the 6th Annual EG Awards opens on Friday October 7 at theage.com.au/entertainment.

Tickets are $45 and on sale at the Prince Bandroom website, princebandroom.com.au or through Moshtix.

The Age EG Awards is sponsored by rock legends Coopers Brewery and Triple R and new sponsors Crumpler and Allans Music+Billy Hyde.  All profits go to Support Act Limited.

For further information, images or interviews please contact Karen Conrad Publicity on 0400 527 365 or email kcpublicity@optusnet.com.au